Towards open science: LIBER 2015 Call for papers

“Open Science broadly describes science carried out and communicated in a manner which allows others to contribute, collaborate and add to the research effort, with all kinds of data, results and protocols made freely available at different stages of the research process” – Introduction to RIN / NESTA Open Science case studies, 2010

Foundations of open science

Dan Gezelter of defines open science as underpinned by the following broad principles:

  • Transparency in experimental methodology, observation, and collection of data
  • Public availability and reusability of scientific data.
  • Public accessibility and transparency of scientific communication.
  • Using web-based tools to facilitate scientific collaboration.

– from What, exactly, is Open Science?, 2009

The library role in open science

It is clear that libraries have a key role in enabling open science and apparent that libraries will have to show leadership, adapt how they measure impact and deliver services, and partner with other stakeholders in order to fulfil this role.

This conference invites papers that address these issues, explore the movement towards open science practice and policies, and provide examples of how libraries are acting as enablers and identifying and addressing key challenges related to implementing open science principles.


We invite submissions of:

  • Research papers presenting theoretical solutions, but with a clear  illustration on how these solutions can be applied
  • Position papers presenting opinions on some aspect of practice, or describing work that is still in progress, but sufficiently mature to warrant attention
  • Experiences and case studies specifying requirements, challenges or opportunities
  • Best practices

Topics for the Conference are:

  • Partnering: transitioning and increasing uptake
  • Positioning: leadership, strategy, and impact
  • Innovating: tools, services, exploitation of data, ROI
  • Advocating: policies, promotion, engagement
  • Practicing: building, developing, governing and supporting infrastructure

The Programme Committee will select abstracts based on the following criteria:

  • Relevance for the call for papers
  • Originality
  • Level of innovation
  • Impact on the wider library community
  • Quality of the abstract

How to submit your abstract

To submit an abstract of your paper or poster, please use the LIBER website at:

The deadline for submission of abstracts is 15 February 2015

Guidance and notes on submitting
  • Accepted contributions will be limited to one paper and/or poster abstract per
  • All submissions will be automatically considered for the LIBER Award and for the LIBER Annual Conference Fund
  • Abstract length should be a minimum of 250 words and should not exceed 500 words. The language of the conference will be English, therefore the Committee will only accept submissions in this language.
  • All submitted abstracts will be peer-reviewed by at least two reviewers who will
    evaluate them on the basis of the criteria mentioned above.
  • Authors are encouraged to submit their accepted papers for publication in LIBER Quarterly, which is now a fully peer-reviewed journal. Instructions for this can be found on the journal website; you may also contact the Managing Editor, Raf Dekeyser, at:
  • For tips on writing abstracts, please see the following links:

Please note that all presenters are responsible for their own registration and travel costs

LIBER Conference Programme Committee members:
Jeanette Frey, Chair (Switzerland), Susan Reilly, Co-ordinator (Netherlands), Ann Matheson (United Kingdom), Claudia Fabian (Germany), Kurt De Belder (Netherlands), Julien Roche (France), Elena Macevičiūtė (Lithuania), Kristina Pai (Estonia), Susan Reilly (Netherlands), Bo Öhrström (Denmark), Jo Rademakers (Belgium), Jeannette Frey (Switzerland), Sylvia Van Peteghem (Belgium), Anna Lunden (Sweden), Marc Martinez (France), Maria Cassella (Italy), Adam Sofronijevic (Serbia), Wilhelm Widmark (Sweden), Giannis Tsakonas (Greece), Birgit Schmidt (Germany), Martin Moyle (United Kingdom), Thanos Giannakopoulos (Austria), Jana Ķikāne (Latvia)